The United Kingdom's Outrigger Canoe Club based in Central London


OCUK's Committee

The OCUK committee meets once a month. Committee roles come up for re-election annually, giving all members the opportunity to participate in the running of the club. We find this systems works well, giving the club a fresh edge at the start of each year and improving relationships within the club.

Brian Denholm, Chairman

Brian Denholm aka "Stormboy" started paddling in 1999 for Texaco Dragonboat club which later became the Thames DBC. He participated in many UK and a few world events, but due to his lanky stature decided that a switch to outrigging was in order. Unfortunately Thames DBC weren't in a position to fund the purchase of an OC6. So, with a few other paddlers, he chipped in to buy two OC6's from New Zealand. When the new toys arrived, started paddling OC6 as well as Dragonboat. This became a bit much so dropped the regular Dragonboating in 2003 and has been paddling Outrigger's since. Helped found OCUK in 2002 and had many an overseas paddling trip to compete in various events around the world.

Sheila Wells, Club Secretary

Sheila Wells is the Club Secretary. She joined OCUK in April 2008 after spending 13 years in Hong Kong where she paddled in outrigger canoes and dragon boats. Having swapped the hot, steamy weather of Hong Kong for the cooler climes of England she has invested in a whole different range of paddle gear including wellies and rubber gloves. She has raced in the Queen Liliuokalani Canoe Race in Hawaii (2004 and 2011), the Micronesia Cup in Guam (2005 and 2007), the Liberty World Outrigger Competition in New York (2010) and the Giglio Allwave Competition in Italy (2010 and 2011) amongst others. In September 2011 she completed her fourth Great River Race (21 miles from the Isle of Dogs to Ham) in a mixed crew, second time as steerer. When not paddling, sending out agendas or writing minutes her other hobbies include scuba diving and reflexology. On a more mundane level she also trained as a solicitor.

Carolyne Dick, Club Treasurer

Daniela Quintas, Membership Secretary

Siobhán Thomas, Fundraising Secretary